1838 Diary

Fashion plate for January 1838 from World of Fashion (LA Public Library; Casey Fashion Plates)
Fashion plate for January 1838 from World of Fashion
(LA Public Library; Casey Fashion Plates)

Monday,1 January 1838

Mrs Pierrepont calld here. We called on the Miss Allens.  We dined at Admiral Shirley’s, met Miss Workman, Miss Comyn, the three little Darwins and Miss Wood in the evening.

Tuesday, 2 January 1838

Miss Janetta Allen who, with her usual kindness, brought us two tickets for the Concert tonight.  Mrs Pierrepont calld twice.  She also very kindly offered us a ticket.  Miss Wood and Charlotte, Sarah Darwin, Mrs and Miss Buckles calld.  The three Darwins and Miss Wood drank tea here. We went with Miss Wood and two of the Darwins to see the gold box given to Captain Carrall.  Miss Workman’s.  Emma and Miss Wood went to the Concert with the Miss Allens’ tickets.

Wednesday, 3 January 1838

Called on Mrs Lowther’s, Miss Allens’.

Thursday, 4 January, 1838

Mrs Ann Wiltshire, Miss Wood, Miss Hellican, Miss Barry calld here. Drank tea at the Miss Hellicans’, met Miss Workman and two other ladies.  A very pleasant evening.

Friday, 5 January,  1838

Miss Wood, Mr Wiltshire, Mrs Chamier, Mrs Lowther calld here.  Miss Workman’s, Miss Allens’.  Drank tea at Mrs Chamier’s, met Miss Workman.

Saturday, 6 January, 1838

Mrs Lowther calld here. Emma call’d on Miss Workman.

Sunday, 7 January, 1838

Mrs Lowther calld here. At St. John’s.

Monday, 8 January, 1838

Miss Wood, Georgina Shirley calld here.  Emma call’d at Miss Workman’s.

Tuesday, 9 January, 1838

Miss Shirley, Miss Hannington calld here. Emma calld at the Miss Allens’, Miss Allen, Miss Hellicans’.

Wednesday, 10 January, 1838

The three Darwins calld. We drank tea at Admiral Shirley’s.  Sarah Jane Hales’ birthday, 5 years old.  Met Miss Wood and the three Darwins.  It snowd a little all day, sufficient to lay and make everything white.

Snowballing by John Morgan, 1865 (c) Childhood Collection; Supplied by The Public Catalogue Foundation
Snowballing by John Morgan, 1865
(c) Childhood Collection; Supplied by The Public Catalogue Foundation

Friday, 12 January, 1838

Miss Wood calld.

Miss Shirley and Mrs Chamier calld here.

Emma went to Miss Workman’s and Admiral Shirley’s, who took her with Georgina, Miss Comyn and the two little Hales to see the wild beasts.

Friday, 12 January 1838

Miss Workman’s, Miss Shirley’s, Mrs Nicholas, Mrs Chamier, Miss Hannington, Mrs Lowther, Miss Allen, the Miss Allens.

Saturday, 13 January, 1838

? askd us to drink tea this evening, but my cold was not well enough to venture.

Emma calld on Rebecca, Miss Wood, Mrs Lowther.  Emma calld at Mrs Lowther’s and Miss Allen’s, Miss Workman’s.

Monday, 15 January, 1838

Mrs Chamier calld.

Tuesday, 16 January 1838

Miss Wood calld.  Emma calld on Miss Workman.

Wednesday, 17 January 1838

Miss Shirley calld.

Thursday, 18 January 1838

Called on Mrs Longden’s, Mrs Turner’s, the Miss Hellicans’.

Friday, 19 January 1838

Mrs Earle, Mrs Pierrepont calld.  Emma calld on Miss Workman, Mrs Lowther.

Saturday, 20 January, 1838

Mrs and Miss Chamier, Miss Shirley, Ellen Hunter calld.  Emma calld on Miss Wood.

Sunday, 21 January, 1838

Mrs Lowther calld.

Monday, 22 January, 1838

Miss Wood, Mrs Lowther calld.  Emma calld on Miss Workman.

Tuesday, 23 January, 1838

Mrs Lowther, Miss Janetta Allen calld.  E calld on Miss Workman

Wednesday, 24 January, 1838

Mrs Lowther, the three Darwins, Mrs and Miss Chamier, Miss Commyn calld.

Thursday, 25 January, 1838

Miss Wood, Ellen Darwin calld.

Friday, 26 January, 1838

Mrs Lowther calld.

Saturday, 27 January 1838

Miss Wood calld.

Sunday, 28 January 1838

Mrs Lowther.  Emma calld on Miss Workman.

Monday, 29 January 1838

Miss Shirley, Mrs Lowther, Admiral Shirley calld.

Tuesday, 30 January, 1838

Miss Janetta Allen, who most kindly gave Emma a ticket for the Concert Brahms.

Fashion Plate for August 1838 from Le Follet (LA Public Library; Casey Fashion Plates)
Fashion Plate for August 1838 from Le Follet
(LA Public Library; Casey Fashion Plates)

Saturday, 11 August 1838

Mr Wiltshire, Miss Janetta Allen, Mr Vezey came up to witness a Power of Attorney, Miss Wilson called here.

Monday, 13 August 1838

Mrs and Miss Chamier called here.

Tuesday, 14 August 1838

Mrs Pierrepont, who is going to spend a few days with Mrs Osborne at Bathampton called.

Bathampton by George Burrell Willcock (c) Victoria Art Gallery; Supplied by The Public Catalogue Foundation
Bathampton by George Burrell Willcock
(c) Victoria Art Gallery; Supplied by The Public Catalogue Foundation

Thursday, 16 August 1838

Miss Fanny Hellican, Miss Janetta Allen called.

Wednesday, 22 August 1838

Mrs Longden, Mrs Pierrepont called.

Thursday, 23 August 1838

Miss Burmester called.

Monday, 27 August 1838

Doctor Cooper, Miss Wilson and Miss Harvey called.  They drank tea here.

Tuesday, 28 August 1838

Mrs Brock, for the Character of Mrs Darwin’s housemaid, Caroline Harris, Mrs Chamier called here.

Friday, 31 August 1838

Mr Veal from Mr Hale, Dr and Miss Brabant, Miss Hughes from Devizes.  Old Mary Daniels to enquire after Ellen Darwin called here.

Fashion plate for September 1838 from Petit Courier des Dames (LA Public Library; Casey Fashion Plates)
Fashion plate for September 1838 from Petit Courier des Dames
(LA Public Library; Casey Fashion Plates)

Saturday, 1 September 1838

Mrs Pierrepont  to ask us to drink tea.

Monday, 3 September 1838

Mrs Chamier and Georgina to ask us to drink tea tomorrow.

Tuesday, 4 September 1838

Mrs Pierrepont to ask us to dine Thursday.

Wednesday, 5 September 1838

Mrs Pierrepont to ask us to dine with her today, instead of tomorrow.

Saturday, 8 September 1838

Mrs Pierrepont to ask us to drink tea there next Tuesday.

Monday, 10 September 1838

Mrs and Miss Chamier to ask us to tea this evening.

Thursday, 13 September 1838

Mrs Lukin, Miss Hill and a Miss Polwhele.  Miss Hill ask’d us to drink tea there tomorrow.

Friday, 14 September 1838

Captain Eyre called.

Tuesday, 18 September 1838

Mr Figgins and Mrs Mitchell called.

Wednesday, 19 September 1838

Mr Wilton, who kindly brought us a brace of Partridges, which I sent to dear Mrs Jones at Oldbury.  Miss Shirley came home from London.

Thursday, 20 September 1838

Miss Shirley.  She brought us two very pretty pincushions from her amiable cousin, Miss Cogan, and a pair of workd cuffs each from herself.

Friday, 21 September 1838

Miss Wilson called.

Saturday, 22 September 1838

Mr Veal from Mr Hale, to explain why the Legacy Duty was not paid!  Dear Mrs Jones sent us a nice joint of pork, a beautiful pine apple and a melon.  The pine we gave to the kind Miss Allens.

Sunday, 23 September 1838

Miss Drewett called.

Wednesday, 26 January 1838

Mr Weston from Mrs Hale with the receipt from the Legacy Duty Office.  Mr Wiltshire.

Thursday, 27 September 1838

Mrs Pierrepont brought her work and sat an hour or two.  Mr Wiltshire.

Saturday, 29 September 1838

Mr Vezey, for his quarter’s rent, which I paid him.  Miss Hill, Mr Robinson from Dunkirk, Mr Lukin, Miss Shirley and Sarah Jane Hale.

Chapman image - 1838 October
Fashion plate for October 1838 from La Belle Assemblée (LA Public Library; Casey Fashion Plates)

Wednesday, 3 October 1838

Mrs Simpson called.

Thursday, 4 October 1838

Miss Wilson, Miss Harvey, Mrs Nicholas, Miss Barry, Mrs Earl called.

Friday, 5 October 1838

Miss Workman, the Miss Allens sent Emma their poor sisters bird, in a magnificent cage, as a present.

Saturday, 6 October 1838

Miss Hill, to ask us to dine next Wednesday.

Monday, 8 October 1838

Miss Shirley and little Hale.

Wednesday, 10 October 1838

Mrs Pierrepont called.

Thursday, 11 October 1838

Mr Gore, to prescribe for my arm.

Friday, 12 October 1838

Freeman returned from Lyme.

Saturday, 13 October 1838

Miss Hough, Miss Shirley and little Hale

Sunday, 14 October 1838

Mr Gore called

Monday, 15 October 1838

Miss Hill, Mrs Pierrepont, Miss Harrison, Mr Veal with my papers from Mr Hale!

Miss Fanny Chapman. Discover more in her fascinating early nineteenth-century Regency and Victorian diaries. https://fannychapmansdiary.wordpress.com
Miss Fanny Chapman.

Tuesday, 16 October 1838

Miss Shirley, little Hale, Mrs Lukin drank tea here and was very pleasant.

Thursday, 18 October 1838

Mr Gore, Mrs Pierrepont, Miss Hill called.

Friday, 19 October 1838

Miss Wilson and Miss Harvey, Miss Shirley and little Hale, Miss Workman.

Saturday, 20 October 1838

Mr Gore, the Miss Allens sent to ask us to drink tea, but we could not go on account of my arm being blistered.

Monday, 22 October 1838

Mrs Brown, Mrs Lukin, Miss Hill and Mrs Coates, Miss Burmester, Miss Masters, Miss Workman drank tea here.  Mr Gore.

Tuesday, 23 October 1838

The dear Miss Allens, Mrs Pierrepont.  She came to ask us drink tea this evening, but we could not, on account of my arm.

Wednesday, 24 October 1838

Mr Gore, Miss Barry and a Miss Cox.  The dear Miss Allens, Mrs Lowry, Miss Shirley and little Hale.

Thursday, 25 October 1838

Miss Hill, Mrs Coates called.

Friday, 26 October 1838

Mr Gore, Mrs Pierrepoint, Miss Hill, Miss Shirley called.

Sunday, 28 October 1838

The dear Miss Allens called.

Monday, 29 October 1838

Mr Gore, Miss Shirley.  Last night was the most awful night I ever remember.  It blew a perfect hurricane.  We got up about half past two and remained up till 5, when the fury of the storm abated.  It was quite terrific for about three hours and has done a great deal of damage to chimneys and trees.

Thursday, 30 October 1838

Miss Workman, Mrs Dorset Fellows, Miss Masters, Mrs Longden, Miss Hill and Miss Polwhele called.

Wednesday, 31 October 1838

Miss Janetta Allen, Dr. Davies.

Chapman image - 1838 November
Fashion plate for November 1838 from World of Fashion (LA Public Library; Casey Fashion Plates)

Friday, 2 November 1838

Miss Wilson and Miss Harvey.  Mrs Pierrepoint, Misses Wilson and Harvey drank tea and spent the evening here and were very chearful.  Miss Hill sent to say she would come to tea, but soon after five she sent an excuse.

Saturday, 3 November 1838

Mr Wiltshire.  He kindly came to offer to take us to the opening of the new organ at the Abbey next Tuesday.

Monday, 5 November 1838

Miss Shirley.  Miss Hill sent to say she would come and drink tea this evening and Miss Hough sent to ask us for tomorrow, but I am not well enough and Emma is going with Miss Hill to the Abbey in the evening.  Miss Hill drank tea here.  The dear Miss Allens, Mrs Smith.

Tuesday, 6 November 1838

Mr Gore, Mrs Dyke and Miss Brabant.  Emma went with Mr Wiltshire to the Abbey.  He most kindly gave her a ticket and sent the carriage for her.  She went again in the evening with Miss Hill, who also gave her a ticket.

Emma Chapman, Fanny's sister, when elderly and blind.
Emma Chapman, Fanny’s sister, when elderly and blind.

Wednesday, 7 November 1838

Mrs Brown (?), Miss Shirley, Addy and Sarah Jane Hale called.

Thursday, 8 November 1838

Miss Shirley, Mrs Pierrepont called.

Saturday, 10 November 1838

Miss Shirley called.

Sunday, 11 November 1838

The dear Miss Allens called.

Tuesday, 13 November 1838

Miss Harrison, Mr Wiltshire called.

Wednesday, 14 November 1838

Mrs Pierrepoint.

Thursday, 15 November 1838

Mr Gore.  I put a strengthening plaister on my arm.

call’d here 1838

Friday, 16 November 1838

The Miss Allens, Miss Harvey from the College.

Saturday, 17 November 1838

Mrs Drummond, Mrs Pierrepont.

Tuesday, 20 November 1838

Miss Shirley, Miss Hill, to ask us to dine next Friday.

Wednesday, 21 November 1838

Mrs Lukin drank tea here.  She goes back to Totness on Friday.  I was obliged to take the plaister off my arm.

A Watermill near Totnes, Devon by Frederick W. Watts, painted in 1833 or 1834 (c) Birmingham Museums and Art Gallery; Supplied by The Public Catalogue Foundation
A Watermill near Totnes, Devon by Frederick W. Watts, painted in 1833 or 1834
(c) Birmingham Museums and Art Gallery; Supplied by The Public Catalogue Foundation

Friday, 23 November 1838

Mr Gore, but I was unfortunately out, so did not see him.

Saturday, 24 November 1838

Mrs Longden, Miss Shirley.

Monday, 26 November 1838

Mrs Pierrepont, to ask us to dine on the 6th.  Cards with black edge from Mrs Lowry and Mrs Jackson.

Thursday, 29 November 1838

Mr Gore

Friday, 30 November 1838

Miss Hill, Mrs Pierrepont, Colonel Eyre, the Miss Hellicans, Miss Shirley, the Miss Hendys, Mrs Wade Brown.

Fashion plate for December 1838 from Le Bon Ton (LA Public Library; Casey Fashion Plates)
Fashion plate for December 1838 from Le Bon Ton
(LA Public Library; Casey Fashion Plates)

Monday, 3 December 1838

Miss Masters, Mrs Thackery, Miss Shirley.

Calld here

Tuesday, 4 December 1838

Miss Janetta Allen, Mrs Davis.

Wednesday, 5 December 1838

Dear Mrs Jones and Maria, to see Mrs Godfrey, whom Mrs Jones liked? engaged, Mrs Jones Graeme, Mrs Wilson Brown.

Thursday, 6 December 1838

Major and Mrs Thornton, Mrs and Miss Polwhele.

Friday, 7 December 1838

Miss Shirley, the Miss Hendys, Miss Webb, to tell us the Chamiers return next Tuesday or Wednesday.  She has taken lodgings for them at 10 Russell Street.

Tuesday, 11 December 1838

The Miss Hendys.

Wednesday, 12 December 1838

Mrs Wilson Browne, Miss Shirley.

Thursday, 13 December 1838

Miss Hill, Mrs Pierrepont, Miss Hough.

Friday, 14 December 1838

Mr Wiltshire, the Miss Hendys, Mr Hughes from Devizes, Mrs and Miss Chamier.

Sunday, 16 December 1838

Miss Drewett

Monday, 17 December 1838

Miss Shirley, Mrs Polwhele, the Miss Allens, Mrs Chamier, Major Thornton.

Calld here

Wednesday, 19 December 1838

Miss Hough, Mrs and Miss Chamier, the latter kindly ask’d us to dine on Xmas day.

Thursday, 20 December 1838

The Miss Allens sent us an invitation to dine on Xmas day.

Friday, 21 December 1838

Miss Hill, Mrs and Miss Chamier.  The latter sent for her trunks and luggage.

Monday, 24 December 1838

Mr Vezey for his rent, which I paid.

Wednesday, 26 December 1838

Miss Shirley.

Thursday, 27 December 1838

Miss Hill to ask us to dine next Monday.  The Miss Allens, Miss Hough, Miss Masters.

Friday, 28 December 1838

Mrs and Miss Chamier.

Monday, 31 December 1838

Mrs Gore, Miss Hough, Mrs Drummond, Mrs Slade, the Miss Allens, Mrs Jane and the Miss Hellicans.

Heard from Mrs Gore and Miss Hough that dear Ellen Darwin! died on the 26!

 

Copyright

The articles published on The Diaries of Miss Fanny Chapman are copyright by their respective authors. An article may not be reproduced in any medium without the authors permission and full acknowledgement. You are welcome to cite or quote from an article provided you give full acknowledgement to the original author. 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s